Indian Hills Wins The Beu/Mussatto Invite

Macomb, Illinois -- Indian Hills opened up a 12-stroke lead after Tuesday's opening 18 holes and went on to win the Beu/Mussatto Invitational for the second year in a row, the Warriors ending up seven strokes ahead of Iowa Western for the team title.

All 36 holes were played in one day after poor weather and course conditions forced a postponement of Monday's scheduled opening round.

IHCC's George Clarke narrowly missed taking home medalist honors.  The sophomore shot back-to-back rounds of two-under par 70 at the Harry Mussatto Golf Course and finished one shot in back of Western Illinois' Jackson Wetherbee. 

The Warriors showed the depth of their roster with all six players shooting two-over par or better and all of them placing in the top 14.  Of the 12 rounds played by IHCC golfers, eight turned in scores of par or better.

For IHCC, after Clarke's 140, Jesse MacNaughtan -- who had the lead after the first round following a blistering 5-under 67 -- wound up tied for 3rd with a 141 total.  He had a second-round 74.  MacNaughtan's 67 was the second-best round of the tourney.

Max Leclerc had scores of 71 and 72 and was alone in 8th place at 143, a shot better than teammate Harry Doig, who shot 71-73 and tied for 9th with his 144.

Ethan Keane, playing as an individual, opened with a one-under 71 and tied for 11th at 145.  Joe Hodgson was one stroke in back of Keane with a 146 that included a 70 on the second 18 holes.

In the team race -- in a field that included Kirkwood CC and the University of Northern Iowa in addition to Iowa Western -- the Warriors posted a 279 in the first round, then followed with a 285 to end up 12 shots under par with their 564 score.

The team title was the second of the spring for the Warriors and it's the second year in a row they captured the Beu/Mussatto Invite.  They have finished in the top three each of the last five years.

It was the first meet for Indian Hills in nearly a month.  They return to action at the NJCAA District III Championship in Gothenburg, Nebraska Apr. 29-30.  The national championship follows in mid-May.

Beu/Mussatto Invitational

Team scores:

  1. Indian Hills 279-285=564; 2. Iowa Western 290-281=571; 3. Western Illinois 290-283=573; 4. Kirkwood CC 304-295=599; 5. Northern Iowa 307-295=602; 6. Western Illinois 'B' 309-299=608; 7. St. Francis 314-305=619; 8. Eastern Illinois 305-315=620; 9. Chicago State 310-313=623; 10. North Dakota 322-314=636; 11. Governors State 320-320=640

Indian Hills scores:

2. George Clarke 70-70=140; T3. Jesse MacNaughtan 67-74=141; 8. Max Leclerc 71-72=143; T9. Harry Doig 71-73=144; T11. Ethan Keane 71-74=145; T14. Joe Hodgson 76-70=146